FEATURED: Gender Crisis In Ghana: The Perceptive Controversy Over The Legalizati...

23.10.2005 NPP News

Abura-Asebu-Kwamankese NPP chairman retains post

Listen to article

Abura-Dunkwa (C/R), Oct. 23, GNA - The Abura-Asebu-Kwamankese Constituency Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Mr Kwame Kumah, popularly called Twer Nyame, has retained his position at a delegates' congress winning 76 out of the 125 votes against his challenger, Mr Zubert Fleicher.

Mr Ebenezer T. Odonkor, Abura-Asebu-Kwamankese District Electoral Officer supervised the elections.

Other officers elected were; Mr Seth Amponsah, First Vice Chairman, Mr Ben Buadi, Second Vice Chairman, Mr Albert Joojo Bondzie, Secretary, Mr K. K. Mensah, Assistant Secretary, Mr Egyir Ferguson, Treasurer and Mr Lord Arhin, Organiser. The rest were; Madam Alberta Owusu, Women's Organiser while Mr Stephen Otoo, was elected Youth Organiser.

In an acceptance speech, Mr Kumah expressed his appreciation to the delegates and assured members of the party of a more committed service to maintain the seat in the next general election. He called for maximum co-operation and goodwill from the members, adding that, through effective collaboration much could be achieved for the party and the nation in terms of socio-economic development. Mr Kumah stressed the need for the rank and file to bury their differences and to forge ahead in unity to win more supporters for the party.

The Central Regional Secretary of the NPP, Mr Ato Essuman, later sworn in the new officers.

The District Chief Executive for the area, Mr Job Acquah Markin and representatives of National Democratic Congress (NDC) and the Convention Peoples Party (CPP) witnessed the election.

Modern Ghana Links