FEATURED: Let's Embed Rawlings' Values In The National Psyche — Parliament...

01.10.2005 NPP News

Power struggle could spell doom for NPP

Listen to article

Hohoe, Oct. 1 GNA - Mr. Kenwuud Nuworsu, Volta Regional Chairman of the New Patrotic Party (NPP) on Thursday cautioned aspirants that their quest to aspire to political position should not spell doom for the party and its structures.

He therefore called on the rank and file of the party to exercise maximum decorum in this guise to avoid engendering the party's structures and Constitution.

Mr. Nuworsu, who was addressing delegates conference of the Hohoe-South and Hohoe-North Constituencies of NPP at Ve-Golokwati and Hohoe said their ability to manage the cracks that may braze the election trail has a potential to disunite their front.

He appealed to aspirants at the regional, national and Presidential levels to conduct themselves above reproach since the party was supreme to any individual interests.

He consequently cautioned members to rise up to the occasion, as the party was in its trying moments saying, "this was the first time a synchronized election was being held at the constituency, regional, national levels."

Mr John Peter Amewu, Hohoe District Chief Executive said elections are typical demonstration of grassroots participation in decision-making and governance, which should be devoid of antagonism.

He therefore, entreated the new Executives to garnish their loins for future challenges, which should guarantee the victory in 2008. Mr Hayford E. Kugblenu was elected Chairman of Hohoe-South with Mr Francis Aggroh and Mr Valintine Katsa Quarshie emerging as first and second vice-chairmen respectively.

Others are, Mr Edward J. Anku-Secretary, Mr Michael Xettor-Organiser, and Miss Margarete Honyenugah-Women Organiser, Mrs Edith Ekpedzor-Treasurer and Mr Seth Komla Heh as Youth Organiser.

Results of the Hohoe-North are, Chairman-Mr Abdallah Mohammed Sadiq, Mr Leonard Bob Videkah and Mr Abednego Adzrakor elected as first and second vice-chairmen with Mr Andrews Gbetotseh and John Adjah emerging as secretary and Assistant secretary.

Others are, Mr George Egbenunya retained as organiser, Mrs Eddah Saim Yaa-Baby as women organiser, Mr Henry Akotse as treasurer and Mr Prosper Atsu Adom-Youth organiser.

Modern Ghana Links