FEATURED: Live Updates: Ghanaians Go To The Polls...

21.09.2005 Politics

Oforikrom polling station chairmen support executive

Listen to article

Kumasi, Sept 21, GNA - Seventy-nine polling station chairmen of the Oforikrom constituency of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) have endorsed and approved the application of eight persons as unopposed executive members of the party in the constituency.

They are Mr Lawrence Akwasi Prempeh, chairman, Mr. Noble Adjei Donkor, First Vice Chairman and Mr Adjei Bediako, Second Vice Chairman Others are Mr Appiah Kubi, Secretary, Baba Awudu Mohammed Organizer, Mr. Opoku Ware, Treasurer, Mr Anto Kusi, Youth Organizer and Mrs Agnes Oduro, Women's Organizer.

In a statement signed by all the 79 chairmen and issued in Kumasi on Tuesday, after the abrupt end of their constituency elections on Sunday September 18, the polling station chairmen stated that, they endorsed the election of the executive members who had filed their nominations for the various positions unopposed.

According to the chairmen, they were forced by circumstances beyond their control to abandon the conduct of the elections on Sunday and that, they had no option but to affirm the persons who had filed their positions as single candidates to contest the positions, as unopposed.

Modern Ghana Links