FEATURED: The Most Befitting Memorial In Honor Of The Late J. J. Rawlings...

21.09.2005 NPP News

Polling Station Executives of NPP asked to ensure the Party retains power

Listen to article

Wa, Sept.21, GNA - Mr Mac-Adams Banda, Wa Municipal Chief Executive has called for unity within the rank and file of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) within the Municipality.

He called on Polling Station Executives of the Party to actively serve as campaign managers in their localities, to ensure that the party retained power in 2008.

Mr Banda made the call when addressing delegates attending the Wa Central Constituency of the Party at Wa. A nine-member executive was elected to steer affairs of the party for the next three years.

Mr Banda asked the new executives to review the Party's performance during the 2004 elections in the Constituency and map out strategies to overcome the challenges and win the seat in 2008. He said the NPP an offshoot of the United Party (UP) tradition traced its roots to the Constituency therefore, the Party must be nurtured to grow in the area.

Mr Banda was optimistic that with unity and hard work, the outcome of the 2008 elections "would tell the world that our people have gone back to our political roots."

He explained that every Government was bound to take unpleasant decisions during its tenure of office for the medium to long term well-being of its economy but conditions improved after sometime and therefore, urged the Party's functionaries to explain Government policies and programmes to the electorate.

Alhaji Abudulai Issahaque, Upper West Regional Chairman of the NPP who inaugurated the new executives, said results of the two bye-elections at Asawase and Odododiodoo were a wake-up call to the NPP to smoothen its rough edges, plan and strategize properly to win the 2008 elections.

The elected executives were, Mallam Abudulai Safana, as Chairman, Alhaji Osman Yakubu, First Vice-Chairman and Alhaji Farouk Umar, Second Vice-Chairman.

Mr Mujeeb Rahman, Secretary, Mrs Jamila Issah, Assistant Secretary, Mr John Donkor, Organiser, Mr Bashir Malik, Treasurer, Miss Amamata Mumuni, Women's Organizer and Mr Ali Kamara, Youth Organizer. 21 Sept.05

Modern Ghana Links