FEATURED: Let's Embed Rawlings' Values In The National Psyche — Parliament...

17.09.2005 NPP News

Kwabre West NPP elects new executives

Listen to article

Kodie (Ash), Sept. 17, GNA - Odeneho Kwaku Appiah, a youth activist and president of Youth In Action, an NGO, was on Friday elected the New Patriotic Party (NPP) Chairman of the newly created Kwabre West constituency in a keenly contested election at a delegates conference at Kodie.

Odeneho Kwaku Appiah who lost the party's parliamentary primaries to Mr Emmanuel Asamoah Owusu-Ansah, polled 40 votes as against 33 by Mr Kwame Adjei, the incumbent Chairman. However, in spite of his victory, he was not sworn-in, following a protest lodged by Mr Kofi Karikari Appau, a party member against him on the grounds that he was not a registered voter in the constituency. Mr Appau also contended that Odeneho Appiah was neither resident in the constituency nor hail from there, and had never made any significant contributions towards the construction of the party's office at Kodie. Mr Osei Assibey Antwi, the Ashanti Regional First Vice-Chairman of the NPP upheld the protest and said since the issues raised were constitutional and had to be resolved at the Party's regional headquarters.

He said if it is proved that the allegations are true, the election would be nullified, but if found to be untrue, he would be sworn-in. Mr Antwi advised the new officers not to alienate completely the old executive but rather they should tap their rich experience to unite the members in order to move the NPP forward.

Mr Osei-Assibey called for cohesion between the District Chief Executive, the Member of Parliament and Constituency Party Chairmen to ensure good governance at all levels of development. Nana Appiah Kubi won the post of First Vice-Chairman while the post of Second Vice-Chairman went to Mr Omono Asamoah, the incumbent, while Mr Joseph Boakye-Dankwah became the new treasurer after the incumbent, Mr Richard Opoku-Agyemang, stepped down for him. Mr Alex Boakye-Dankwa polled 30 votes to take the position of Secretary while the post of Assistant Secretary went to Mr Elijah Owusu-Afriyie.

Mr Kofi Anane retained his position as Organiser while Mr Patrick Frimpong retained his post as Youth Organiser. Madam Hanna Appiah became the new Women's Organiser, polling 38 votes to beat the incumbent Miss Mary Acheampong, who had 33 votes. Except the chairman, all the new officers were sworn-in for a year's term of office by Mr Sam Cudjoe, the Ashanti Regional Secretary of the Party. The election was supervised by officials of the Electoral Commission.

Modern Ghana Links