Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: Can We Blame Religion For Africa’s Economic Woes?...

11.09.2005 NDC News

Assemblyman elected Asawasi NDC constituency Chairman


Kumasi, Sept 11, GNA - Alhaji Ahmed Abubakar, the Assemblyman for Aboabo Number One, has been elected the new National Democratic Congress (NDC) Chairman for the Asawasi Constituency.

Alhaji Abubakar polled 123 votes out of the 184 votes cast to beat the former Constituency Chairman, Alhaji Gado Suleimana who got 61 votes.

Mr J.S. Boarle, the incumbent Constituency Secretary, retained his position when he polled 119 votes as against 59 votes of his only challenger, Mr Mohammed Faisal.

Mr B.A. Mohammed and Mr Ibrahim Issah were returned unopposed as Organiser and Propaganda secretary respectively. The position of Treasurer went to Alhaji Anyars Abdallah who got 109 votes as against the 53 votes by Mr Asuma Anin. Hajia A. Hajara emerged the constituency Women's Organizer with 57 votes while the other contestant Hajia Hawa Bakar got 23 votes. The portfolio of youth Organiser went to Mr Yusif Amuda who polled 45 votes with his challenger Mr Fatayi Sadiq getting 14 votes.