Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: Can We Blame Religion For Africa’s Economic Woes?...

26.07.2005 General News

NDC reviews disqualification of candidate


Accra, July 26, GNA - The Functional Executive Committee (FEC) of National Democratic Congress (NDC) on Tuesday reviewed its disqualification of Mr Walid Laryea to contest the primaries to elect a candidate for the Odododiodoo constituency bye-election saying it was doing so in the "supreme interest of the Party".

In a statement signed in Accra by Mr Bede Ziedeng, Acting General Secretary, the NDC said the FEC met on Tuesday to review further the situation in the constituency after the disqualification of Mr Laryea. It said nominations were still open until 1400 hours on Tuesday. The statement said the FEC noted that Mr Laryea did not have all the requisite qualifications for a person seeking nomination under the constitution of the Party to contest primaries for the election of a parliamentary candidate for the Odododiodoo bye-election.

However, it said, in the wider interest of democracy and in consultation with some members of the National Executive Committee, "the FEC in the supreme interest of the Party has waived the disqualification of Mr Walid Laryea in order to allow for a fair contest". The NDC aborted the initial primaries on Sunday due to sharp disagreement over the disqualification of Mr Laryea, one of two candidates seeking the nod of the Party.

Vetting of contestants would be conducted at 1500 hours on Tuesday by the FEC at the Party Headquarters.

"A constituency conference will be held in Wednesday 27th July 2005 at 1000 hours at the Sea View Hotel in the Constituency to elect a candidate to contest the bye-Election."

Meanwhile the Electoral Commission (EC) has set Wednesday July 27 and Thursday July 28 as the days for filling of nominations for the bye-election.

Mr Nat Quaye, EC District Electoral Officer, told the Ghana News Agency that nomination of candidates would take place at the Office of the Returning Officer, Ashiedu Keteke District, between 0900 hours and 1200 noon and 1400 hours and 1700 hours each day. Nomination forms can be obtained from the Returning Officer in the District. 26 July 05