Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: Can We Blame Religion For Africa’s Economic Woes?...

25.07.2005 Politics

Six government appointees sworn into office


Breman Asikuma (C/R), July 25, GNA - The Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa District Assembly on Friday, held an emergency meeting to swear into office six new government appointees of the assembly.

The six persons, who replaced those appointees, whose appointments were revoked by the government about four weeks ago, were Mr Kwabena Kwakye, Mr Peter Yamson, Mr Anthony Amoakwa, Mrs Agnes Botway, Mrs Comfort Sackey and Miss Agnes Adimah.

Mr Akwasi Aseadu, the District Magistrate, performed the swearing in ceremony.

Nana Atto Arthur, Deputy Central Regional Minister, who is also the Acting District Chief Executive, appealed to the assembly to cooperate with the new appointees for the development of the area. The Presiding Member of the Assembly, Nana Kweku Adu-Twum II, expressed regret about the behaviour of some youth in the town, who held the assembly members hostage for sometime for voting against the President nominee.

He called for peace and unity to ensure the development of the district and warned that in future such offenders would be drastically dealt with accordingly the law.