Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: Can We Blame Religion For Africa’s Economic Woes?...

24.07.2005 Politics

Minister swears-in MCEs, DCEs


Sunyani (B/A), July 25, GNA - Eighteen Municipal and District Chief Executives (MCEs/DCEs) in the Brong-Ahafo Region were on Friday sworn-into office by the Regional Minister, Nana Kwadwo Seinti at a ceremony held at the Residency in Sunyani.

The swearing-in of the 18 out of 19 MCEs and DCEs in the Region followed their confirmation or approval by their various district assemblies after their nomination by President John Agyekum Kufuor. The only area yet to attract Presidential nomination is Tain, one of the newly created six districts in the Region. It was separated from Wenchi District Assembly and Nsawkaw is its capital or headquarters. Before the creation of the six additional districts, Brong Ahafo, under the Local Government Act ran an administration of 13 district assemblies and with the Presidential pruning of the political district assembly leadership after the 2004 general election only four DCEs were seen at the swearing-in ceremony.

With the exception of former MCE of Sunyani, Mr Ignatius Baffour-Awuah, who has been upgraded to the position of Deputy Brong-Ahafo Regional Minister and Kwame Ampofo-Twumasi, former DCE for Nkoranza and now Member of Parliament (MP,) many of the MCEs/DCEs, who formed the NPP's first four-year-term of office, were replaced with new faces.

The old office holders that survived the pruning exercise at the swearing-in ceremony to continue the Party's 2005-2008 term of office included Mr Cassius Osei-Poku, Atebubu-Amantin; Mr Lenning Anane-Adjei, formerly at Bechem and now shifted to newly created Tano North; Mr George Yaw Boakye, formerly at Asunafo and now placed at yet a newly created district, Asunafo South and Mr Kwabena Kyere Berekum. The new entrants - three of whom are women - are: Mr Yaw Adjei-Duffour, Deputy Regional Minister and now DCE for Kintampo South; Mr Apraku Tando, DCE for Jaman South; Mr Kwame Twumasi, MCE for Sunyani; Mr James Appiah Awuah; DCE for Nkoranza; Mr Opoku Peprah, DCE for Asutifi; Alhaji Ishaq Bonsu, DCE for Asunafo North; Squadron Leader Anane Asamoah (rtd), DCE for Dormaa; Mr Abdulai Razak, DCE for Kintampo North; Ms Farezina Beento Ibrahim, DCE for Wenchi; Ms Elizabeth Ogba, DCE for newly created Jaman North; Mr Prince Yaw Donyina, MCE for Techiman; Ms Cynthia Titriku Danso, DCE for Sene; Alhaji Gariba Iddrisu, DCE for newly created Pru and Mr Osei Sekyere Bota, DCE for Tano South. They swore the Oaths of Allegiance and Secrecy and later, on behalf of President Kufuor, Nana Seinti presented each of them with a parchment confirming the appointment.

Addressing them, Nana Seinti urged them to accept criticism in good faith, adding that criticism rather would go a long way to fortify them and advised them not to be deterred by it. As political heads representing the President in their districts and municipalities the majority of the people they served would give them a golden crown if they conducted their administration well and face all manner of criticisms if they fell short of what was expected of them, he said.

''You should resolve to be number one servant of people in your areas of operation because it is only when you serve them well that they will also be proud to serve you," he told them. There were pieces of advice also from some of the dignitaries at the function and most of them cautioned the appointees to be wary of sycophants and talebearers, who for their own selfish interests might be parading their corridors.

They should operate open-door administration but they must always work with caution.

Among those present were Nana Bosoma Asor Nkrawiri Omanhene of Sunyani Traditional Area and Nana Kwame Korang, Omanhene of Awuah-Domase Traditional Area.