Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: Can We Blame Religion For Africa’s Economic Woes?...

14.07.2005 General News

Government inaugurates legal Aid Board


Accra, July 14, GNA - The Government on Thursday inaugurated a 12 member reconstituted Governing Board for the Legal Aid Scheme in conformity with Article 542 (4) of the 1992 Constitution, which mandates the President to appoint a board in consultation with the Council of State.

The Board is enjoined to develop a comprehensive legal aid programme and policy; supervise the general administration of the legal aid programme and approve the selection of Lawyers for participation in the legal aid programme without prejudice to the right of an applicant to have a lawyer of his own choice.

Justice Felix Michael Lartey, a Supreme Court Judge is the Chairman of Board and the other members are Mrs Felicia S. Gbesemete, Vice President of Ghana Bar Association; Mr Christian Sottie, Deputy Controller and Accountant General; Mr Zakaria Dudimah, Deputy Superintendent of Police; Mr Kwaku Ansah Asare, Director Legal Education and Mrs Magret Kutsoati, Deputy Director, Department of Social Welfare. The rest are: Mr F. K. Korley, Director, Legal Aid Scheme; Mr George Sarpong, Senior Lecturer Law Faculty of the University of Ghana; Nene Abayaateye Ofoe Amegatcher, Private Legal Practitioner; Mr John E. K. Edzie, Council for Law Reporting; Ms Cynthia Lamptey, Principal State Attorney and Ms Philipa Dennis Amable, Private Legal Practitioner. The Legal Aid Board operates through the Legal Aid Scheme to educate and create awareness of its legal service, ensure that diligent and committed legal and paralegal personnel are made available to provide the needed services.

The Scheme also ensures the facilitation of legal services to the doorsteps of the poor and enhances cooperation with local, governmental, international and non-governmental agencies with similar aims and objectives for effective and efficient delivery of legal services. The Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Mr J. Ayikoi Otoo administered the oath of membership.