FEATURED: 'ofori-Atta's Performance Shockingly Abysmal; He Fooled Hypocritical I...

17.10.2017 General News

Multimedia Journalists For West Africa Media Excellence Awards

By MyJoyOnline
Multimedia Journalists For West Africa Media Excellence Awards
LISTEN OCT 17, 2017

The Media Foundation for West Africa (MFWA) has announced the finalists for the maiden West Africa Media Excellence Awards.

The competition received more than 400 entries from 12 countries across West Africa. The three-member panel of judges after a thorough review of all entries shortlisted 15 finalists for 6 out of 11 categories. The Finalists are as follows:

A) Oil and Gas Reporting
Justice Baidoo, Multimedia Broadcasting Limited, Ghana

Femi Asu, Punch Newspaper, Nigeria
B) ECOWAS and Regional Integration Reporting
Akinfenwa Ebenezer Olugbenga, The Guardian Newspaper, Nigeria

Shiella Williams, Business Day Newspaper, Ghana
C) Anti-Corruption Reporting
Alagbe Jesusegun, Punch Newspaper , Nigeria
Odimegwu Onwumere, The Nigerian Voice, Nigeria
D) Health Reporting
Kindo Noufou, Burkina 24, Burkina Faso
Agbota Ernest, ORTB Radio Parakou, Benin
Fousseni Saibou, Radio Kanal FM, Togo
E) Human Rights Reporting
Bazie Bassana Jonas, Radio Wat FM, Burkina Faso
Seth Kwame Boateng, Multimedia Broadcasting Limited, Ghana

Sodjago Ankou Mawuegnegan, Senego Senegal
F) Investigative Reporting
Arukaino Umukoro, Punch Newspaper , Nigeria
Ulrich Vital Ahotondji et Romuald Logbo, EducAction, Benin

Manasseh Azure Awuni, Multimedia Broadcasting Limited, Ghana

Finalists will be hosted at the Awards event on the 28th of October, 2017 and also participate in the West Africa Media Excellence Conference on the 27th of October, 2017.

It will feature sessions on topical journalism issues and also provide opportunities for networking with other journalists, editors, and experts from West Africa.

The overall best West African journalist would also be announced at the Awards event.

Winners will receive plaques, certificates and cash prizes. All finalists who are not winners in the various categories will also receive certificates of merit.

All 15 finalists will also be inducted as fellows of the MFWA’s Journalism for Change Network and will be offered regular training opportunities both locally and internationally to enhance their capacity to influence positive change in society through journalism.

The West Africa Media Excellence Conference and Awards (WAMECA) is supported by Tullow-Ghana, MTN-Ghana, Chamber of Bulk Oil Distributors Ghana, Stanbic Bank and the US Embassy in Ghana. The event is also supported by several media partners across West Africa.

Powered By Modern Ghana