29.04.2005 General News

Forty-eight Legon students receive awards

Listen to article

Accra, April, 28, GNA - Forty-Eight students of the University of Ghana, Legon who excelled during 2003/2004 Academic year Examinations were on Friday awarded Academic Prizes for their excellent performance in various disciplines. They received certificate of commendation from 32 different sponsors and cash prizes ranging from two hundred thousand cedis to three million cedis.

The highest prize went to the best final year graduating student in Geology, Mr. Prosper Gbolo who received a cash prize of three million cedis presented by MacCallen Memorial Prize.

In a commendation statement read by the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ghana, Professor Kwadwo Asenso-Okyere, said a few years ago, the University of Ghana decided to separate its Annual Academic Award from the main Congregation to honour its brilliant students, who have done well.

Professor Asenso Okyere praised the 32 sponsors for the various awards and also appealed to other corporate bodies to turn to education and sponsor students who are financially handicapped.

He reminded the sponsors that establishing academic prizes normally immortalizes the donors.

Professor Asenso-Okyere wished students who were going to write this year examinations a success and to those who have graduated to return and continue with their education. Mrs. Dipka Nankani and Mr. Mahesh Gokals, on behalf of the Indian Association presented 10 scholarships worth twenty five million cedis to 10 continuing students of the University of Ghana Legon.

The recipients are; Francis Tanam Djankpa, Evans Yahra Kwaku Ashigbi, Desmsond Fometu Doe, Emmanuel Asare Domfeh, Johane Fantevie, Lukest Mensah Kakey, Prosper Senyo Koto, Appiah Yaw Lartey, Rexford Okae Osafo and Joseph Tindana.

The wife of the Late Professor James Gordon, Mrs. Dorah Asante Gordon also presented two scholarships to two students from the College of Agriculture and Consumer Sciences of the University of Ghana in memory of her late husband. They are Ms. Princess Adjei Frimpong and Ms Regina Dery.

The awards were received on behalf of the students by the Dean of the School of Agriculture, Professor Obeng Ofori. Mr. Francis Tanam Djankpa thanked the sponsors on behalf of the recipients of award and pleaded with other sponsors to come to the aid of needy students of the Universities in Ghana.

In attendance at the Awards Ceremony were, The Registrar, Mr. A.T. Konu, the Acting Academic Registrar, Mr. Enoch A. Amartey, Professor J.N. Tagoe, Provost, College of Health Sciences & the Acting Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ghana, the Dean of Science Faculty, Professor G.J. Odamteng and Heads of Departments of the University.

ModernGhana Links