24.03.2005 General News

Members of Council of State sworn into office

Listen to article

Accra, March 24, GNA - President John Agyekum Kufuor on Thursday swore 24 out of the 25 members of the Council of State into office at the Castle, Osu.

The members made up of 21 men and three women swore the Oaths of Office and the Oath of Secrecy.

President Kufuor is yet to appoint a former Chief Justice to the Council.

Those sworn in were Naa Thomas Tia Sulemana, Zosali-Na; Alhaji Alhassan Bin-Salih, a Retired Principal Secretary; Mr Clement K. Tedam, a Former Minister and Educationist; Mr A.K. Deku, a Former Commissioner of Police (CID) and Mr Kwasi Armah, a Former High Commissioner to the United Kingdom (UK) and a Barrister-at-Law.

The rest were Nana Otuo Siribour II, Paramount Chief of Asante-Juaben Traditional Area and a Former Lecturer at the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology,(KNUST), the Most Rev Dr Samuel Asante-Antwi, Immediate-Past Presiding Bishop of the Methodist Church of Ghana; Professor Adzei Bekoe, a renowned Scientist and Former Vice Chancellor of the University of Ghana; Major-General Edwin Sam, Former Chief of Defence Staff; Mr Kwaku Kyei, Former Inspector General of Police and Odeneho Gyapong Ababio, Paramount Chief of Sefwi-Bekwai Traditional Area and President of the National House of Chiefs.

The three women were Madam Ama Bame Busia, a Former Principal Domestic Bursar, University of Ghana, Legon, Mrs Gifty Afenyi-Dadzie, Immediate-Past President of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) and a Member of the Media Commission and Mrs Cecilia Bannerman, a Former Minister of Mines.

Regional representatives to the Council, who were also sworn-in, were Togbe Kpangbatriku III, Paramount Chief of Dodome Traditional Area for the Volta Region; Professor Naa Sebiyam Nabila for Northern Region; Mr Michael Kwadwo Adusah, a Retired Assistant Commissioner of Police for Brong Ahafo Region and Mr Francis Asianab Afoko, a Businessman for Upper East Region.

The others were Mr Paul Kwabena Damoah, an Agriculturist for Western Region; Mr Fredrick Guggisberg Yaw Ofori-Atta, an Industrial Relations Practitioner, for Eastern Region and Mr Benjamin Asonaba Dapaah, Transport Owner, for Ashanti Region.

The rest were Kuoro Kuri-Buktie Limann IV, Paramount Chief of Gwollu Traditional Area for Upper West Region; Mr Ato Essuman, a Management Consultant for Central Region and Mr John Sackah Addo, Former Governor of the Bank of Ghana for Greater Accra Region.

Article 89 of the 1992 Constitution stipulates the establishment of Council of State to counsel the President in the performance of his functions.

They would hold office until the end of the term of office of the President unless he resigns, becomes permanently incapacitated or removed from office or dies.

The appointment of a member of the Council of State may be terminated by the President on grounds of stated misbehaviour or of inability to perform his functions arising from infirmity of body or mind and with the prior approval of Parliament.

They shall meet at least four times in a year at a place and time to be determined by the Chairman. It holds its meetings in camera but may admit the public to any meeting whenever it considers appropriate.

Membership are of four categories: a) those to be appointed to the Council of State by the President in consultation with Parliament are

i) One person who has previously held the office of Chief Justice.

ii) One person who has previously held the office of Chief of Defence Staff of the Ghana Armed Forces.

iii) One person who has previously held the office of Inspector General of Police (IGP).

b) President of the National House of Chiefs.

c) A representative from each of the 10 regions of Ghana.

d) Eleven (11) people appointed by the President.

ModernGhana Links