ModernGhana logo
25.02.2005 Regional News

Jirap/Lambussie elects Presiding Member

Listen to article

Jirapa, Feb. 25, GNA - The Jirapa/Lambussie District Assembly on Thursday elected Mr Charles K. Gyan, principal of Tumu Teacher Training College as the Presiding Member.

This was after two rounds of voting during which none of the three contestants obtained the required two-thirds majority of the votes cast. The out-going presiding member, Mr Sylvester Dery opted out of the race after securing eight votes in the first round of voting. After the second round of voting, Mr Gyan and his contestant, Mr Boniface Tensoree had thirty-three and seventeen votes respectively. At this stage, Mr Tensoree announced his withdrawal, leaving Mr Gyan alone in the contest.

In the third round of voting, Mr Gyan had 47 votes in his favour with two against and one abstention.

Mr Kwame Ohene-Essel, a circuit court judge at Lawra, accordingly swore him into office.

The judge advised the new presiding member to study the 1992 constitution as well as local government acts in other to play his new role effectively.

The two members of parliament for the area, Mr Edward Salia for Jirapa and Mrs Alice Boon for Lambussie witnessed the election supervised by the electoral Commission.

Mr Salia commended the assembly members for the peaceful manner in which the election was conducted.

Join our Newsletter