ModernGhana logo
27.01.2005 Regional News

Ejisu-Juaben Assembly gets a Presiding Member

Listen to article

Ejisu (Ash), Jan. 27, GNA - The Ejisu-Juaben District Assembly has elected Mr Michael Dwomoh Sarpong, the incumbent Presiding Member and Assemblyman for Donyina as its Presiding Member.

He polled 47 votes out of the 56 Assembly members present. The election followed the stepping down of Mr Yaw Sekyere, the other contestant and Assemblyman for Apromase.

In a post-election address, Mr Dwomoh-Sarpong thanked the Assembly members for reaching a consensus and electing him as the Presiding Member and called for unity and co-operation from all to enable the District to move forward.

Mr Yaw Ahenkora Afrifa, the District Chief Executive, was happy that the Assembly had finally been able to elect a Presiding Member and advised the members to co-operate with him for the smooth implementation of projects.

He urged the Presiding Member to redouble his efforts and do more than he did during his first tenure of office, saying that not all the Assembly members were satisfied with his work during his first term in office.

Join our Newsletter