ModernGhana logo
25.01.2005 Politics

Agona District fails to elect Presiding Member

Listen to article

Agona Swedru, Jan 25, GNA - Members of the Agona District Assembly failed to elect a Presiding Member (PM) after voting three times at an emergency meeting at Agona Swedru on Thursday.

Nana Yaw Kobiri, the incumbent PM polled 40 votes as against Mr Thomas Asante, Swedru Urban Council Chairman who got 28 votes. In the first and second polls Nana Kobiri obtained 38 and 39 respectively as against 28 on both occasions for Mr Asante in the election supervised by the Electoral Commission.

Section 48 of the Local Government Act 462 stipulates that the winner must poll two thirds of the total votes cast.

The 70 Assembly Members failed to elect a PM on December 22, 2004 at the Assembly's third sitting of the year.

Mr John Kwesi Agyabeng, Acting District Chief Executive stressed the importance of picking a member preside over meetings of the Assembly and stated that it was unfortunate that the members could not elect a PM, adding that, it would affect the work of the assembly and the District as a whole.

The DCE who is also the MP for Agona East asked the various sub-committees to work harder than before now that the Assembly could not reach a consensus to elect a Presiding Member.

Join our Newsletter