ModernGhana logo
24.01.2005 General News

Seven Nominees To be Vetted Today

Listen to article

Seven ministers-designate nominated by the President to certain ministerial positions are to face their destiny today.

At exactly 10.00am in the Speaker's conference room, the seven will be grilled by the 26-member Appointments Committee of Parliament as the second step towards realising their dream of becoming ministers of state for another four year-term.

They include Hackman Owusu Agyeman, Minister designate for Works and Housing: Major (Rtd) Courage Quarshigah, Health; Prof. Dominic Fobih, Lands, Forestry and Mines; Jake Obetsebi Lamptey, Tourism and Modernisation of the Capital City.

The rest are Kwamina Bartels, Private Sector Development and President's Special Initiative (PSI); Sheikh I. C. Quaye, Greater Accra Regional Minister; S.K. Boafo, Ashanti Regional Minister.

Committee members are expected to take the ministers-designate through a rigorous exercise to ascertain whether they would be able to preside over the affairs of their new offices.

Join our Newsletter