ModernGhana logo
14.01.2005 General News

C'ttee to advise Speaker on appointment of officers

Listen to article

Accra, Jan. 14, GNA - Parliament on Friday approved a five-member committee to assist the Speaker, Mr Ebenezer Sekyi-Hughes, to appoint four members to the Parliamentary Service Board.

The Parliamentary Service Board, headed by the Speaker, oversees the administration of the Service and the welfare of the staff. Moving the motion for the approval of the Committee, Mr Osei-Kyei-Mensah Bonsu, Majority Chief Whip, said: "In pursuant of section five of the Parliamentary Service Act, 1993 (Act 460) this house sets up a committee made up of the following honourable members to advise Mr Speaker on the appointment of four members of the Parliamentary Service Board other than Mr Speaker and the Clerk as required under paragraph (b) of section five of the Act." The committee is made up of Mr Felix Owusu-Adjapong, Majority Leader, Mr Alban Bagbin, Minority Leader and Mr Abraham Ossei Aidooh, Deputy Majority Leader.

Others are Mr. Edward Doe Adjaho, Deputy Minority Leader and Ms. Cecilia Abena Dapaah. NPP-Bantama.

Earlier, the Majority Leader informed the house that an induction seminar would be organised for old and new MPs in a couple of weeks time to "enable new honourable members learn a lot about the work of Parliament and other pertinent issues that would facilitate their work." He said the seminar would also help MPs who retained their seats to update their knowledge about Parliament in general Mr. Owusu-Adjapong, who was presenting the Business Statement for next week, said the house would take a short break and hoped this would afford the Appointments Committee the opportunity to consider the President's nominees to ministerial positions.

Join our Newsletter