ModernGhana logo
11.01.2005 General News

Parliament approves a 19-member Committee of Selection

Listen to article

Accra, Jan. 11, GNA - Parliament on Tuesday unanimously approved a 19-Member Committee of Selection to select members for the various committees of the House.

Presenting a report of the Leadership on the membership of the Committee of Selection, Mr Felix Owusu-Adjapong, Acting Majority Leader, said the criteria used in selecting the members was based on the respective strengths of the Majority and Minority Caucuses. He said the breakdown of their strengths is 136 for the Majority and 94 for the Minority, which translate to 59.1 per cent and 40.9 per cent respectively - the Convention People's Party (CPP) and People's National Convention (PNC) having decided to be with the majority New Patriotic Party (NPP) in Parliament.

"Applying the percentages and the ratios the Leadership agreed that the composition of the Committee of Selection would be based on the ratio 11 to eight."

The members of the Committee of Selection, which has the Speaker as the Chairman, include Mr Owusu-Adjapong, NPP; Mr Abraham Ossei-Aidooh NPP, Mr Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, NPP; Mrs Gifty Eugenia Kusi, NPP; Mr Hackman Owusu-Agyemang NPP, and Papa Owusu Ankomah, NPP.

The others are Mr Akwasi Afrifa, NPP; Mr David Apasera, PNC; Mr Charles Binipon Bintin, NPP; Dr Paa Kwesi Nduom, CPP and Mrs Hanna Nyamekye, NPP.

The rest are Mr Alban S.K. Bagbin, National Democratic Congress (NDC); Mr Edward Doe Adjaho, NDC; Mr John Tia, NDC; Hajia Mary Boforo, NDC; Mr Samuel Sallas-Mensah, NDC; Ms Elizabeth Amoah-Tetteh, NDC; Mr Collins Dauda, NDC and Mr Enoch Tei Mensah, NDC.

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter