ModernGhana logo
11.12.2004 General News

NPP to have overall majority in parliament

Listen to article

Accra, Dec. 11, GNA - The New Patriotic Party (NPP) will have an overall majority in the 230-member Parliament when members are sworn in on January 7 next year.

According to results from 225 constituencies, the NPP has 129 MPs, while the main opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) has 88 seats.

The People's National Congress has four seats, the CPP has three seats and there is one independent member, Mr Joseph Labik, who won the Bunkpurugu/Yonyoo seat.

The EGLE, Democratic People's Party, National Reform Party and GCPP won no seat.

In the presidential race, President John Agyekum Kufuor of the NPP won 4,463,731 votes (52.75 per cent), Prof. John Evans Atta Mills of the NDC had 3,750,830 votes (44.32 per cent), Dr Edward Mahama of the Grand Coalition secured 163,648 votes (1.88 per cent) and Mr George Aggudey of the CPP obtained 84,501 votes (one per cent). Voter turnout was 83.2 per cent.

Join our Newsletter