ModernGhana logo
08.12.2004 Politics

Minister of Interior retains Parliamentary seat

Minister of Interior retains Parliamentary seat
Listen to article

Koforidua, Dec.8, GNA - Mr Hackman Owusu-Agyeman, Minister of the Interior retained the New Juaben North Constituency seat for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) when he polled 16,780 rpt 16,780 votes to win in the 2004 Parliamentary elections held on Tuesday.
Mr Frank Mensah Frimpong-Boateng of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) had 6,459 votes rpt 6,459 while Miss Alice Boateng of the Conventions People's Party (CPP) had 300 rpt 300 votes.
In the Presidential Elections, President John Agyekum Kufuor polled 17,191; Professor John Evans Atta Mills of NDC had 6,042 rpt 6,042 votes, Dr Edward Mahama of Grand Coalition had 148 rpt 148 votes and Mr George Aggudey of CPP had 90 votes.
In the Abuakwa North Constituency, President Kufuor had 16,672, Professor Mills had 8,711; Dr Mahama had 121 rpt 121 votes and Mr Aggudey had 89 rpt 89 votes.
In the Parliamentary, Mr Joseph Boakye Danquah Adu of the NPP had 15,973, Mr Simon Peter Asirifi of NDC had 7,573 and Mr Peter Effah Owusu an Independent candidate had 2,215 rpt 2,215 votes.

Join our Newsletter