ModernGhana logo
25.11.2004 NPP News

NPP To Win 19 of 38 Seats in E/R and UW

By Daily Dispatch
Listen to article

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) is likely to win a total of 19 out of a total of 38 seats on offer in the two regions.

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) is likely to win one seat, Peoples National Convention (PNC) one seat with one seat too close to call.

The Election Results Research was conducted by the Daily Dispatch, an Accra-based private newspaper into those who will win in the 230 constituencies and the parliamentary elections .

In the Eastern region, the NPP is likely to win 19 of the 28 seats on offer, the NDC eight seats and one seat, Akwatia, involving the NPP's Kiston Akomeng Kissi and Mohammed Baba Jamal of the NDC, would be too close to call.

In Abirem, the incumbent NPP embers of Parliament (MP), Dr Boakye Akoto, who lost the primaries and is contesting as an independent candidate is likely to cost the NPP the seat.

As at the close of the week ending November 12, 2004, Dr Akoto had done enough work, not to win but draw enough votes, which would have gone to the NPP candidate, Ms Esther Dappah.

In the Akropong constituency in the Eastern Region, Ms Ronni Nana Esi Botsio, popularly known as Tamara who is contesting as an independent candidate is likely to draw possible votes for the NDC and as happened likely to help the NPP's William Ofori Boafo to be sworn in as a Member of Parliament in January 2005.

The NPP candidate for Asuogyaman, Mr Kofi Osei Ameyaw, will know within the next two weeks, whether his immense contribution to development projects in the area in recent times will help the NPP win this seat after unsuccessful attempts in 1996 and 2000 elections.

One of the national vice-chairmen if the NDC, Mr. Kweku Baah, will attempt to wrestle the Mpreaso seat from the incumbent, Dr Francis Osafo Mensah,

Some of the incumbent MPs from the Eastern Region, who will return to Parliament in January 2005, include Messers Yaw Barima, Yaw Osafo Maafo, Hackman Owusu Agyeman and Nana Akuffo Addo, all of the NPP and the NDC's Samuel Ofosu Ampofo.

The NPP had 18 seats of the region's 26 seats, now increased to 28.

The NPP did not win any seat in the then eight seats Upper West Region.

The number of seats has been increased to 10 but the NPP is not likely to win any seat. The PNC is likely to win one-Mr. Moses Dani Baah in Sissala East Constituency, with the NDC winning the remaining nine.

In the Nadowli West Constituency, Anlev-Mwine Baga, now of the NPP, will attempt to do what he failed to do in 2000as an independent candidate-unseat Alban Sumana Bagbin of the NDC.

He is unlikely to succeed although he will make the gap closer than the nearly 5,500 votes in 2000.

A Deputy Minister for Justice and Attorney General, Mr. Ambrose Dery of the NPP, will find it very difficult to beat Dr Benjamin Kumbuor.

Join our Newsletter