FEATURED: Ghana Back To Hipc Not True – Oppong Nkrumah...

18.01.2016 General News

President Mahama appointed Co-Chair of group to champion SDGs

President Mahama appointed Co-Chair of group to champion SDGs
LISTEN JAN 18, 2016

President John Dramani Mahama has been appointed a Co-Chair of a group of sixteen Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) Advocates.

The Prime Minister of Norway, Ms. Erna Solberg is the other Chair of the group which will support the Secretary-General, Ban Ki- moon in his efforts to generate momentum to achieve the SDGs by 2030.

The SDGs adopted by world leaders at the United Nations Sustainable Development Summit on 25 September 2015 represents a commitment by all nations to work together to end poverty, achieve shared prosperity, build peace, and secure a life of dignity and a healthy planet for present and future generations.

United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon who announced the appointment in New York today said the “16 Advocates will leverage their unique standing and leadership to promote the SDGs as part of an ambitious and transformative global agenda.”

Working as champions of advocacy, the SDG Advocates will promote the universal character of the SDGs, including their commitment to leave no one behind; promote the engagement of new stakeholders in the implementation and financing of the SDGs; encourage partnerships with governments, civil society and private sector to share knowledge and resources; and raise awareness for the integrated nature of the SDGs.

Below is a list of members of the group and the Co- Chairs

His Excellency
Mr. John Dramani Mahama - President of the Republic of Ghana

Her Excellency Ms. Erna Solberg - Prime Minister of Norway

Her Majesty Queen Mathilde of Belgium
Her Royal Highness, Crown Princess Victoria of Sweden

Mr. Richard Curtis, Screenwriter, Producer and Film Director

Ambassador Dho Young-Shim, Chairperson, United Nations World Tourism Organization’s

Sustainable Tourism for Eliminating Poverty Foundation

Ms. Leymah Gbowee, Director Gbowee Peace Foundation

Mr. Jack Ma - Founder and Executive Chairman
Alibaba Group
Mrs. Graça Machel - President
Foundation of Community Development and the
UNESCO National Commission in Mozambique
Ms. Alaa Murabit - Founder
The Voice of Libyan Women
Mr. Paul Polman - Chief Executive Officer
Professor Jeffrey Sachs - Director
Earth Institute at Colombia University
Ms. Shakira Mebarak - Artist/Singer Songwriter/Advocate

Mr. Forest Whitaker - Founder and Chief Executive Officer

Whitaker Peace & Development Initiative
Professor Muhammad Yunus, Founder
Grameen Bank

Powered By Modern Ghana