ModernGhana logo
13.08.2004 NDC News

Adjaho wins Ave/Avenor NDC primaries

Listen to article

Akatsi (V/R), Aug. 13, GNA - Mr Edward Doe Adjaho, Member of Parliament (MP) for Ave/Avenor Constituency has been retained to stand on the ticket of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Election 2004.

The Minority Chief Whip polled 147 votes to beat Mr Seth Aglago, 47, an ITC Specialist who had 119 votes at the constituency delegate's conference at Akatsi on Friday.

Two hundred and sixty-seven delegates cast their votes. One ballot was rejected in the keenly contested polls characterised by booing and name-calling.

Officials of the Electoral Commission (EC) supervised the elections.

Present at the conference were Dr Farouk Briamah, National Propaganda Secretary of NDC; Mr Edward Teye Mensah, MP for Ningo Prampram, who is also the National Organiser of the Party and the Constituency Executives.

In an address, Mr Mensah, who helped to cool down tempers, asked the delegates to consider the primaries as a trial football match, which required diligence for the protection of the players, who would be needed in a major game ahead.

He urged them to come together to "send the elephant (New Patriotic Party) back to the bush for deceiving Ghanaians, who are facing the worst form of suffering and high cost of living".

Dr Farouk said the NDC would no longer impose candidates on any constituency having learnt the sad lesson in the 2000 elections when their imposed candidates lost.

He appealed to supporters of the Party to avoid complacency and redouble their efforts to ensure victory in the forthcoming elections. Mr Adjaho in his acceptance speech thanked the delegates for re-electing him and promised to work hard with everybody including the defeated candidate for victory.

Mr Aglago, who accepted defeat, pledged his full support for Mr Adjaho and appealed to his supporters to put the past behind them and work in the interest of the Party. 13 Aug. 04

Join our Newsletter