ModernGhana logo
29.07.2004 Politics

Agyapong re-elected unopposed for Assin North

Listen to article

Assin Foso (C/R), July 29, GNA - Mr Ken Ohene Agyapong, 44, MP for Assin North in the Central Region has been re-elected unopposed to contest on the ticket of the NPP in the December 2004 elections. The election, supervised by the Assin district office of the Electoral Commission was after the 113 polling station chairmen had given him the nod by acclamation at Assin Foso on Wednesday. Present at the ceremony were some members of the NPP regional executives led by Mr Danquah Smith, Second Regional Vice Chairman, delegates from the Mfantseman East and West, Asikuma/Odoben/Brakwa, Abura/Asebu/Kwamankese of the NPP and Mr Samuel Asare-Kyire, CPP constituency chairman.

In a post election address, Mr Agyepong thanked the delegates for his re-election pointing out that, the honour demonstrated the confidence they had in him.

He said, over the last three and a half years a number of development projects such as construction of new classroom blocks, electrification, boreholes and telephone facilities were executed in many parts of the constituency.

He said it was through his initiatives that Foso was getting an FM Radio station and a new television reception centre, which had for two years not functioned as well as the granting of scholarships to some needy students at the JSS and SSS levels.

Mr Danquah Smith said the NPP would train party agents and other field staff to monitor the election and appealed to the party supporters to be committed.

Mr Isaac Owusu, Assin, district electoral officer, said a total of 6,295 representing 7% of the total 97,057 registered voters in the district would be covered during the photo-taking mopping up exercise. He appealed to the parties to help synthesise those who were not covered during the photo-taking exercise to take advantage of the exercise, as they would have no other chance after this. Mr Asare-Kyire said the invitation extended to the CPP was worthy of emulation by all parties who want a peaceful election and co-existence.

Join our Newsletter