16.07.2004 Education

Stakeholders urged to create atmosphere for quality education

16.07.2004 LISTEN

Nkoranza (B/A), July 16, GNA - Mrs Akua Akobour Debrah, Acting Brong Ahafo Regional Director of Education, has urged stakeholders to help provide the congenial environment towards the achievement of quality education.

She noted that the search for quality education could be fruitless unless stakeholders got deeply involved in the provision of the needed school physical facilities, effective supervision, monitoring and evaluation and good school management practices.

The acting Regional Director said this in a speech read for her at the inauguration of a 13-member reconstituted Board of Governors for Nkoranza Secondary Technical School.

Mrs Debrah told the members they were expected to apply their rich and varied experiences to bear on the administration of the school by offering relevant advice and good counselling.

"It is your responsibility to ensure good administration of school funds and the promotion of environmental cleanliness in the school", she added.

The acting Regional Director asked them to live above reproach and to have a vision to promote the development of the school.

She, however, appealed to the Board not to interfere unduly in the day-to-day administration of the school, as their functions were different.

Mrs Debrah stressed the need for the Headmaster to consult the Board or the standing committee on any major decisions the school administration would take.

Mr Joseph Kwaku Adjei, the Headmaster expressed concern about the refusal of parents in Nkoranza to enrol their children who obtain good grades in the school.

"The practice is a big challenge facing the school, as we are always compelled to admit students with aggregates as low as 30, which other schools would reject", he said.

The headmaster said the school lacked adequate classrooms, furniture, an assembly hall, dinning hall and a means of transport and appealed to the Board to help fence the school to instil discipline in the students.

Mr Kwabena Agyeman-Badu, District Director of Education commended the Board members for accepting the challenge to serve the school and urged them to help initiate programmes that would enhance the development of the school.

The District Director appealed to the government to provide the school with a bus to facilitate activities.

The Board members unanimously nominated Mr Kwasi Owusu-Sekyere as the Chairman and Madam Juliana Tiwaa, Mr Augustine Osei-Fosu and Nana Adu Baffo Adade 11, to serve on the standing committee.

Other members are Mr Kwabena Agyeman-Badu, Mr J.A. Arthur, Mr Ignatius Sumiah, Mr Ayariga Ku-kolgo, Madam Margaret Fordjour, Mr Kwame Ampofo-Twumasi and Mr Joseph Kwaku Adjei.

Mr Apraku Tuffour, Assistant Director at the Regional Education Directorate and in-charge of Higher Institutions attended the inaugural ceremony.