ModernGhana logo
16.07.2004 General News

Delegation to ECOWAS Parliament reconstituted

Listen to article

Accra, July 16, GNA - Parliament on Friday approved with immediate effect the reconstitution of the eight-member Parliamentary delegation to the ECOWAS Parliament.

The reconstitution was necessitated by the resignation of Mr. Abraham Kofi Asante, as NDC member for Amenfi West and the appointment of Mr Joseph Akudibilla, an independent member for Garu/Tempani, as Deputy Minister of Defence.

The two have been replaced with Mr. Seidu Paakuna Adamu, NDC-Bibiani and Mr. Joseph Darko-Mensah, NPP-Okaikoi North. The other members were Mr. Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, Majority Whip and Leader of the Ghanaian delegation, Mr. Kenneth Dzirasah, Second Deputy Speaker, Madam Hawa Yakubu, NPP-Bawku Central, Mr. Stephen Kwaku Balado Manu, NPP-Ahafo Ano South, Mr. Likpalimor Tawiah, NDC-Kpandai, and Mrs. Alice Teni Boon, NDC-Lambussie.

The resolution supporting the motion for the reconstitution of the membership, stated that, "for the avoidance of doubt, the reconstituted members shall project themselves as a non-partisan delegation representing the Parliament of Ghana and shall submit a report to the Parliament of Ghana at the end of each session of the ECOWAS Parliament."

The House also adopted a number of reports and approved a number of resolutions in order to complete the business for this meeting and to go on recess.

The reports adopted included those of the Committee on Subsidiary Legislation on the Local Government (Tamale Metropolitan Assembly) (Establishment) Instrument 2004, L. I. 1801, and the Committee on the Supplementary Distribution Formula of the GETFund among others.