ModernGhana logo
13.07.2004 Regional News

GETfund grants scholarships to needy children in Adansi East

Listen to article

New Edubiase (Ash), July 13, GNA - A total of 1,137 brilliant but needy children in the Adansi East District of Ashanti are to enjoy scholarships totalling about 11.1 million cedis from the GETfund. This forms part of government's efforts at making education accessible to the rural children.

Nana Appiah-Danquah, head of the Inspectorate and Supervision Division of the Adansi East District Education Office, who announced this said, the scholarships would cover all categories of brilliant but needy children including the disabled and visually impaired.

Inaugurating an eight-member committee to be in charge of the disbursement of the money at New Edubiase on Friday, he said 784 primary and 553 junior secondary schools would benefit from the package. He said 470 girls and 314 boys in the JSS would receive cash of 85,000 cedis per pupil, to pay their school feels, while 212 girls and 141 boys in the primary schools would receive 110,000 cedis each for the payment of their fees.

Nanaa Appiah-Danquah said 5.553 million cedis out of the money would cater for the disabled and visually impaired, which would be used to purchase impairment learning materials like hearing aids and callipers and clutches for children with weak limbs.

Part of that money he said, would also be given to orphans, children who take care of themselves and neglected disabled parents who would use the money to care for their children in schools.

On the selection procedure, Nana Appiah-Danquah said, every school in he district would present the list of its brilliant but needy children to the committee for the final selection.

He urged the committee members to be upright and honest in the discharge of their duty to ensure that only those who qualified were selected.

The eight-member committee has Mr D.K. Obeng, the District Director of Education as Chairman, Mrs Janet Adutwumwaa Boakye District Girls Education Officer, Mr I.K. Boakye, representing Parent-Teacher Association (PTA) and School Management Committee (SMC), Mr J.K. Kyereh, representing teachers, Mr I.K. Paintsil, Miss Alice Otchere and Mr De Graft Kyei Baffour, a representative of the Unit Committee.

Join our Newsletter