ModernGhana logo
08.07.2004 General News

Parliament adopts report on Municipal assemblies

Listen to article

Accra, July 8, GNA- Parliament on Thursday adopted the Report of the Committee on Subsidiary Legislature on Local Government (Municipal Assembly) (Establishment) Instruments 2004, L.I's 1794-1800. According to the report, upon the coming into force of the legislative instruments under consideration, seven new municipal assemblies would be established in furtherance of the objectives of the Local Government Act.

It said the provisions of the instruments were in "conformity with the parent act and the procedural requirements specified in the Standing Orders 166 (2) and (3)."

"The committee therefore recommends that in accordance with article 11 (7) of the constitution, this House allows the Local Government (Municipal Assemblies) (Establishment) Instruments 2004, L.I.s 1794-1800 to come into force," the report added.

The committee said "by virtue of section of the Local Government Act 1993, Act 462, the Minister of Local Government and Rural Development is empowered to establish by legislative instruments, an assembly for each district, municipality or metropolis for effective local government administration."

It is expected that with the coming into force of the L.I.s, the Sunyani, Ho, Obuasi, Bolgatanga, Bawku, Techiman, and Wa Municipalities would be established.

Major Samuel Kwame Amposah (RTD), NDC-Mpohor Wassa East, said some assemblies such as Ho and Sunyani had performed well over the years, and it was only proper that they were elevated to the status of municipalities.

Mr. Modestus Ahiable, NDC-Ketu North, said the Ministry should create the right environment for the new assemblies to thrive by providing them with structures that would make them operational. Mr. Enoch Teye Mensah, NDC- Ningo Prampram, said the Greater Accra Region had only five districts and urged the Ministry to make plans for the upgrading of some in rural areas, such as Dangme West, into a municipality.

Captain Nkrabeah Effah-Dartey, Deputy Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, said although the Greater Accra Region had five districts, the capital Accra had 13 sub metropolitan assemblies.

Join our Newsletter