ModernGhana logo
29.05.2004 Regional News

Georgina Opoku re-elected KDCL Chairperson

Listen to article

Kumasi, May 29, GNA - Miss Georgina Opoku of the Public Services Workers Union (PSWU), was on Friday re-elected unopposed as the Chairperson of the Kumasi District Council of Labour (KDCL) of the Trades Union Congress (TUC) for another four-year term at the district's first quarter meeting in Kumasi.

The post of First Vice-Chairperson went to Mr Thomas T. Kujantira of the Local Government Workers Union (LGWU), who was also elected unopposed.

Miss Naomi Otoo of the Public Utilities Workers Union (PUWU) also retained the Second Vice-Chairperson's position, which is reserved for women after her opponents, Miss Christiana Acquaah-Harrison of the Health Service Workers Union (HSWU) and Miss Rejoice Djirackor, of the General Agriculture Workers Union (GAWU) stepped down. Miss Acquaah-Harrison, however, contested the position of Secretary and won with 71 votes against her opponent, Mr Sefa Boakye-Yiadom of the Ghana Petroleum, Transport and Chemical Workers Union, who had five votes.

The post of Assistant Secretary and Organiser went to Mr Sefa Boakye-Yiadom who also beat Mr Charles Anyiagbanu of the Railway Workers Union by 63 votes to six.

Mr Patrick Matey of the Timber Workers Union (TWU) was elected Treasurer, securing 53 votes to beat Miss Djirackor who polled 28. The meeting also elected the Women's Committee of the Council with Miss Favour Agbevolia as Chairperson, Miss Leticia Hammond, Vice-Chairperson, Miss Mina Thompson, Secretary, Miss Monica Baidoo, Assistant Secretary and Miss Zipporal Frimpong, First Trustee. Swearing the newly elected members into office, Mr Abubakari Adams Sandu, Ashanti Regional Secretary of the TUC, asked them to work hard to champion the cause of workers.

He called on them to live above reproach and not to use their influence for selfish needs.

Miss Opoku expressed her gratitude to the people for the confidence they had reposed in the new executives.

"You trust that we can deliver that is why you have voted for us", she said and pledged to work with the members of the executive to push the union forward.