Modern Ghana logo

FEATURED: Ghana Needs A College Of Common Sense To Function Well...

General News | May 14, 2004

Nine Judges sworn to the Superior Courts


Accra, May 14, GNA - President John Agyekum Kufuor on Friday swore nine Judges of the Superior Courts of Judicature into office at the Castle; Osu.

Professor Justice Tawia Modibo Ocran, Dean's Research Professor of Law at the University of Akron, Ohio, USA, was to the Supreme Court, while Mrs Justice Georgina Kusi-Appouh and Mr Justice Richard Kodjo Apaloo were for the Appeals Court.

Six Judges to the High Courts were; Mrs Justice Gertrude Torkornoo; Mr Justice Isaac Lartey-Young and Mr Justice Anthony Oppong. The others were, Mr Justice Henry Kwofie; Mr Justice Gbiel Simon Suurbarreh and Mr Justice Frederick Anyimah.

President Kufuor administered the Oath of Allegiance while the Chief Justice George Kingsley Acquah did that of the Judicial Oath. Present at the ceremony were Professor Alex A. Kwapong, Chairman of the Council of State and Papa Owusu Ankomah, Attorney General and Minister of Justice. 14 May 04