ModernGhana logo
13.05.2004 Regional News

Three NPP parliamentarians in C/R go unopposed

Listen to article

Cape Coast, May 13, GNA - The sitting Members of Parliament for the New Patriotic Party (NPP) for Assin South, Professor Dominic Fobih, Mr Isaac Edumadze for Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam and Mr Kenneth Agyapong for Assin-North, were returned unopposed, at the close of nominations for the party's primaries on April 22.

Three others, Ms Christine Churcher, MP for Cape Coast, Mr Paul Appiah-Ofori, Asikuma-Odoben-Brakwa, and Mr Samuel Obodai, Agona-West are, however, being challenged by other aspirants.

According to a release issued at Cape Coast on Thursday, and signed by the Central regional secretary of the party, Mr Albert Essuman, Mr Edwin Buckman, a tutor at the Ghana National College, is challenging Ms Churcher.

Mr Henry Ampoful, a legal practitioner based in Accra and one Mr K. E. Sekyi, are battling for the candidacy against Mr Ofori-Appiah, while Mr Obodai, and is also fighting to keep his seat against two tutors, Messrs Ebenezer Quarshie and Paul Tawiah.

According to Mr Essuman, due to the pending bye elections in the Upper Denkyira constituency, following the death of Mr C.O. Nyanor, nominations have not been opened in the two newly created constituencies of Denkyira East and West.

He said opening of nominations for the two newly created constituencies of Twifo-Atti-Morkwa and Hemang-Lower Denkyira, in the Twifo-Hemang-Lower Denkyira, which were delayed to enable the party put constituency structures in place, would be closed next Monday, May 17. The regional secretary said all the aspirants, are to be vetted on Friday May 21, while the dates for the primaries will be announced after the party's national steering committee has given a final approval for recommendations from the national vetting committee.

Meanwhile, the NPP has already elected parliamentary candidates including three district chief executives to contest the parliamentary elections in the other constituencies where it has no sitting MPs.

Join our Newsletter