ModernGhana logo
26.04.2004 Regional News

Bolga Municipality holds delayed best teacher awards

Listen to article

Bolgatanga, April 25, GNA - Eleven teachers and non-teaching staff from the Bolgatanga Municipal Directorate of Education on Friday received various prizes valued at 18 million cedis for outstanding performance of their duties during the 2002 school year. The 2002 best teacher and worker award of the Municipal Educational Directorate could not take place last year because of insufficient money to procure the prizes.

The prayers of the visibly excited award winners were, therefore, answered when early this month the Municipal Assembly released 12 million cedis to support the education directorate to organise the awards.

Ms Felicitas Gandaa, headmistress of Bukere primary in Bolgatanga and Mr. Clement Bafana of Pelungu Junior Secondary School (JSS) were adjudged the best teachers in the Primary and JSS categories, respectively. Each of them received a 21 inches colour television, 300,000 cedis cash and a certificate.

Madam Freda Atanga of Nyariga-Doone Girl's Primary and Mr Maziri Yakubu of Bolgatanga Nurul-Islam JSS came second in the same categories. They took home a mountain bicycle, 200,000 cedis and a certificate each.

Two other teachers, Mr. Peter Kazuni of Bolgatanga Adabase Primary and Miss. Bashirata Yakubu of Nurul- Islam JSS received a 21 inches colour television and a mountain bicycle respectively for their outstanding methods in the teaching of basic science.

In the non-teaching staff category, Madam Memuna Damba of Bolgatanga Girls secondary (Bogiss), Mr. Peter Paul Debuo of Bolgatanga Secondary (Bigboss) and Mr. Moses Apana of Zamse secondary/technical were honoured for their exemplary commitment to duty during the period.

Addressing the award winners later, the Bolgatanga Municipal Chief Executive, Mr. Rockson Bukari said the Assembly was spending more than 60 percent of its annual revenue on education because of the importance of literacy in socio-economic development.

He said motivating teachers to put in their best, despite difficulties would go a long way to improve the quality of education in the area.

He, therefore, pledged the Assembly's continued support for the best teacher and worker award scheme. The acting Municipal Director of Education, Mr Nicholas Nayembil commended the award winners for the exemplary manner in which they have served, and urged others to emulate them.

Join our Newsletter