ModernGhana logo
08.04.2004 Regional News

Ten Mo towns and villages won't be part of Kintampo South District

Listen to article

Accra, April 8, GNA - Ten Mo towns and villages in the Brong Ahafo Region have declined to be part of the newly created Kintampo South District with its capital at Jema.

A petition signed by 10 Chiefs, Nananom and Adikrofo addressed to the Minister of Local Government and Rural Development and copied to the Ghana News Agency, said their decision was informed by their recent historical experience, accessibility, proximity and administrative convenience. The towns and villages are: Ayorya, Chingakrom, Nkwanta, Sabule, Chaara, Mansie, Weila, Babuakura, Gazienya and Sora.

They said all these towns and villages were nearer and more accessible to Kintampo than Jema and it, therefore, stood to reason that they should fall under the administrative jurisdiction of the Kintampo North District. The Petitioners said they had been the poorer because their towns and villages were arbitrarily divided between the Wenchi and Nkoranza District and this they said accounted for their present state of underdevelopment and marginalisation.

They said a journey from any of the towns and villages to Jema would take the person through at least two administrative districts adding that the inaccessibility would impose additional financial burden on the already impoverished people.

The Petitioners said they would resist any attempt to force them into the newly created Kintampo South District, more so in this era of democratic governance and participatory democracy.

The petitioners include Nana Kwabena Komeh II, Nifahene of Mo Traditional Area; Nana Yaw Dompo II, Twafohene Number One of Mo Traditional Area; Nana Kwabena Breja II, Aduanahene of Mo Traditional Area; Nana Kwasi Anane Frimpong II, Nkwanta Dikro; Nana Kwadwo Dajo II, Ayorya Dikro; Nana Kwabena Chiga II Chingakrom Dikro; Nana Baabu, Babuakura Dikro and Naa Gazienya, Gazienya Dikro.