FEATURED: The Most Befitting Memorial In Honor Of The Late J. J. Rawlings...

12.02.2004 General News

Founding members of GAAS honoured

Listen to article

Accra, Feb. 12, GNA - Four founding members of the Ghana Aero-Space and Aeronautics Society (GAAS) are to be honoured by the prestigious Black Engineer of the Year Alumni (BEYA) of the USA.

They are Captain Joe Boachie, Director General of the Ghana Civil Aviation Authority and President of GAAS, Air Vice Marshal Eddie Mantey, Chief of Air Staff of the Ghana Air Force and First Vice President of GAAS, Professor Kwasi Andam, Vice Chancellor of the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology and Executive member of GAAS and Mr Philip Owusu, Chief Executive Officer of Ghana Airways and Treasurer of GAAS.

A statement issued by GAAS and signed by the Secretary, Pearl K. Darko said the four are being honoured for their leadership and vision in forming the GAAS.

It said the award ceremony would take place in Baltimore, Maryland, USA from February 19 -21, 2004.

It marked the first time that Aerospace Industry Leaders from outside the US have been awarded the honour by BEYA.

GAAS is the first aerospace society to be formed in West and Central Africa and aims at facilitating the development of aerospace infrastructure within Ghana and the entire Region.

President John Agyekum Kufuor, a patron of the GAAS, would inaugurate it on March 1 2004.

Modern Ghana Links