20.09.2013 General News

Two new boards inaugurated

By Daily Graphic
Listen to article

The GCAA Board is chaired by Air Vice-Marshall Christian Edem Dovlo and has Captain Daniel Gomez, Mr Yaw Benneh, Ms Sanja Anita Morrison and Mr Alhassan Suhuyini as members.

The rest are Ms Peggy Addo, Ms Ellis Hugh-Tamakloe, Air Commodore Maxwell Tei Nagai and Air Commodore Kwame Mamphey.

Mr Tony Lithur, a private legal practitioner, chairs the GACL Board, which has as its other members Mrs Gizella Agbouti, Ms Betty Solomon Ayeh, Mrs Irene Akoto-Marfo and Mr Vitus Anaab Bisi.

The others are Dr Ebenezer Ayirebi Acquah, Mr Selby Twumasi-Ankrah and the managing director of the company.

Inaugurating the two boards in Accra yesterday, Ms Attivor appealed to the members to support the President's vision by positioning the transport sector in a manner that would transform the country into a middle-income status.

She said the vision of the ministry was to create an integrated, cost-effective, safe, secure and sustainable transportation system responsible to the needs of society.

Aviation  sector
The minister observed that the aviation sector had, in the last couple of years, experienced tremendous growth and urged the boards to ensure that the trend was sustained for the country to enjoy the needed economic growth.

Ms Attivor said as part of efforts to develop aviation infrastructure, plans were underway to expand the Kotoka International Airport (KIA) terminal building and instal aerobridges to improve delivery of services at the airport, as well as other projects in the regions.

Air Vice-Marshall Dovlo, on behalf of the board members, thanked the President for reposing trust and confidence in them and pledged that they would work hard to help realise the government's vision for the transport sector.

By Sebastian Syme/Daily Graphic/Ghana

ModernGhana Links