modernghana logo

FEATURED STORY Tithe Paying Is Certainly A Sin...

15 October 2012 | NPP News

NPP Elects Parliamentary Candidates For 45 New Constituencies; Karbo Wins Lawra,Balado Manu Loses Again

NPP Elects Parliamentary Candidates For 45 New Constituencies; Karbo Wins Lawra,Balado Manu Loses Again

The New Patriotic Party’s primaries to elect candidates for the newly created constituencies ended peacefully with Mr Stephen Baalado Manu losing again in an attempt to stage a come-back.

The party also held a similar election in the Ajumako-Enyan constituency in the Central region to replace the candidate there who died last month.

Reports say the exercise was generally peaceful and in some of the constituencies, candidates were declared unopposed.

Among the winners is former National Youth Organizer of the party, Anthony Karbo who beat his sole contender for the Lawra seat by 194 votes.

In the Upper East region, Rockson Bukari, a former District Chief Executive for the area beat a Lecturer at the University of Cape Coast, Emmanuel Abugri Abole by three votes to win the Bolgatanga East seat.

A former Deputy Defence Minister, Joseph Akudibila won the Timpane constituency primary with 149 votes.

The Member of Parliament, Stephen Balado Manu who was eying the newly created Tatale seat in the Northern Region after losing the primaries in the Ahafo Ano South constituency in the Ashanti Region was again disappointed. James Wunbeye won with 49 votes.

Still in the region, Sheikh Abdul Karim polled 135 votes to beat Alhaji Alhassan Abdul-Wahab who obtained 96 votes for the Sagnarigu North Constituency.

For the Kparibupo Constituency, Mohammed Kamaldeen Adam was acclaimed whilst in Daboya, Samuel Tika won the primary with the slimmest of margins, beating his closest contender, Mohammed Mumuni Cassius just one vote. The vote was 85 – 84.

In the Central region, Dr Mrs Henriette Abane was acclaimed for Cape Coast North; at Gomoa East Richmond Sam Qualm won with 168 and Ewutu Senya West was won Opey Abbey with 198 votes, with Festus Turkson winning Ajumako-Enyan-Essiam with 423 votes to replace Ato Quainoo who died a few weeks ago.

In the Western region, Wilson Arthur, a businessman received a popular acclamation in the Wassa East constituency.

Former Minister of Trade and Industry, Joe Baidoo Ansah fended off opposition from four other people to win the Kwesimintim constituency primary with 100 votes.

In NPP’s stronghold, Ashanti region, elections in one of the eight constituencies, Ahafo Ano North has been postponed to Tuesday to enable one of the candidates to officially renounce his dual citizenship.

In Accra, the election in the Weija Gbawe constituency was briefly delayed because of technical reasons.

The NPP’s Director of Elections and Research, Martin Adjei Mensah Korsah however said the candidate for Ngleshi Amanfrom was also declared unopposed.

source: Myjoyonline

quot-img-1Where there is danger, there is glory

By: Rindoif=Amos K yeb quot-img-1