modernghana logo

FEATURED STORY Why Christian Clergymen Are Unqualified To Pronounce Blessings On Their Con...


New Districts Named

Daily Guide
14 October 2011 | General News

Minister of Local Government Rural Development Samuel Ofosu-Ampofo yesterday gave a breakdown of the 42 newly-created districts, bringing the total number of districts in the country to 212.

Mr Ofosu-Ampofo said six new districts had been created in the Greater Accra Region, three in the Central region, six in the Volta region, five in the Eastern region, four in the Ashanti region, five each in the Western and Brong-Ahafo regions, four in the Northern region, three in the Upper East region, and two in the Upper West region.

Some districts have also been elevated to the status of municipal assemblies.

They include Ejura Sekyeredumasi in the Ashanti; Nkoranza South in the Brong Ahafo; Yilo Krobo, Manya Krobo and Akuapem North District in the Eastern region.

Others are Savulugu Nanton in the Northern region, Kasina Nankana (Navrongo) in the Upper East, and Sefwi Wiaso in the Western region.

New districts in the Greater Accra region include Ada West district with its capital at Sege; Ningo Prampram district with its capital at Prampram; Nii Okaiman Municipal assembly with the district capital at Sowutuom in the Ga South district, Medina municipality with its capital as Medina, and Kpone Katamanso with its district capital at Kpone in the Tema municipality. Dangme West now becomes Shai Osudoku District and Dangme East is now called Ada East.

Some new districts in the Volta region include the Ave district, with Avedakpa as the district capital carved from the Akatsi district; Afadjato district with Ve-Golokuati as the capital from the Hohoe district, the Adaklu district with Adaklu Waya as its capital from Adaklu Anyigbe district and North Tongu with Battor as district capital.

In the Ashanti region, the Sekyere Afram Plains North from Asokore Mampong Municipal Assembly with headquarters at Asokore Manpong, and Agogo district assembly with Agogo as its district capital from the Ashanti Akyem district.

Eastern Region has Denkyembuo district with Akwatia as the district capital in the Kwaebibirem district, Kwahu Afram Plains South with Tiase as the district capital in the Kwahu North district, Ayensuano district with Coaltar as the district capital in the Suhum-Kraboa-Coaltar district and Upper West Akim with its capital as Adeiso from West Akyem district.


Asamankese and Nsawam Municipal have been carved out of Akuapem South Municipal Assembly. The new Akuapem South District Assembly is located at Aburi.

In addition to the districts in the Central region, Awutu Senya, which used to have Kasoa as its capital, now has its capital as Awutu, with Kasoa now a Municipal Assembly; Ekumfi district from the Mfantsiman Municipal assembly, and Hemang Lower Denkyira district with Hemang as capital in the Twifo-Hemang district.

The Western region also has Bia East, with Bia now becoming Bia West; Amenfi Central; Wasa East with Daboase as its capital; New Mpohor with Mpohor as the district capital and Boodi district with Boodi as the district capital.

New districts in the Brong Ahafo region include the Asutifi South with Hwidiem as district capital; Sene East from Sene district; Seni West district maintaining its capital at Kwame Danso, Dormaa West with Nkran Nkwanta as district capital, Banda District with Banda Ahenkro as capital from the existing Tain district.

In the Northern region, Daboya District has been created out of Damongo Daboya, with Daboya as the district capital; Mion District assembly with Sang as the district capital from Yendi Municipal assembly, Tatale Sangule with Tatale as the district capital from Zabzugu Tatale, and Mamprugu Mandugu district with Nagaba as the district capital.

In the Upper East region, Pusiga district has Pusiga as the district capital, Nabdam with Nangodi as capital, Fumusi as capital for Builsa north from the existing Builsa district with capital at Sandema.

In the Upper West, Nandom from the Lawra district has Nandom as capital, Nadowli with Nadowli as capital, and Kaleo district with Kaleo as district capital.

The Minister said that each new of the new district will be given GH¢1million as seed money to start operating from next year's budget.

 By Jamila Akweley Okertchiri

Do you have a story for publication? Please email it to

General News


By: akoaso,Hamburg-Germa quot-img-1

Inter Bank Rates

Currency Buying Selling
U.S Dollar4.40514.4095
Pound Sterling5.95005.9577
Swiss Franc4.54514.5485
Canadian Dollar3.57533.5778
S/African Rand0.33070.3308
Australian Dollar3.50103.5073