FEATURED: Live Updates: Ghanaians Go To The Polls...

26.01.2010 Politics

Major Ministerial Shake-Up Bagbin, E.T.In, Avoka, Pelpuo Out

By Daily Graphic
Mr E.T. Mensah - Employment and Social Welfare Minister designateMr E.T. Mensah - Employment and Social Welfare Minister designate
Listen to article

President J.E.A. Mills has made his first Cabinet reshuffle since assuming office a year ago.

Eight new faces have been introduced into the administration, four ministers have been given new responsibilities, while four have lost their positions and two re-assigned.

A statement signed by Mr Mahama Ayariga, the Presidential Spokesman and issued in Accra, said the four who have been given new responsibilities are Mr Stephen Kwao Amoanor Minister of Employment and Social Welfare, who has been moved to the Office of the President as Minister of State; Mrs Zita Okaikoi, Minister for Information, takes over as the Minister of Tourism; Mrs Juliana Azumah-Mensah, moves from the Tourism Ministry to become Minister of Women and Children's Affairs, while Ms Akua Sena Dansua, Minister for Women and Children’s Affairs takes over as the new Sports Minister.

Mr John Gyetuah, Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, moves to the Office of the President as Minister of State designate.

The four who have lost their positions are Dr Kwabena Donkor, a Deputy Minister of Energy, Alhaji Iddi Saani, a Deputy Minister of Water Resources, Works and Housing, Mr S.S. Nanyina, Northern Regional Minister, and Mr Albert Abongo, Minister of Water Resources, Works and Housing.

The two who are to be re-assigned are Mr Cletus Avoka, Interior Minister, and Mr Abdul-Rashid Pelpuo, Minister of Youth and Sports.

The statement named the eight new faces as Mr Martin Amidu, Minister-designate for the Interior, Mr John Tia, Deputy Majority Leader, is now Minister-designate for Information.

Others are Mr E.T. Mensah, Minister-designate for Employment and Social Welfare; Mr Alban Bagbin, Minister-designate for Water Resources, Works and Housing; Mr Moses Magbenba is now the Northern Regional Minister-designate.

Mr Mahama Ayariga has now been sent to the Ministry of Trade and Industry as a Deputy Minister in that sector, while Mr Inusah Abdulai Fuseini, MP for Tamale Central, is now the Deputy Minister-designate for Energy, with Mr Nasamu Asabigi, becoming the Deputy Minister-designate for the Northern Region.

Share Your Thoughts on this article Name Email Location Comments Graphic Ghana may edit your comments and not all comments will be published

Modern Ghana Links