FEATURED: Live Updates: Ghanaians Go To The Polls...

17.01.2010 NDC News

NDC poised to execute the “Better Ghana Agenda”

By gna
NDC poised to execute the “Better Ghana Agenda”
Listen to article

Tamale, Jan. 17, GNA – The National Democratic Congress (NDC) has emerged unscathed, stronger, united and focused from its Eighth National Delegates Congress in Tamale and is poised to execute its “Better Ghana Agenda” to retain the confidence of Ghanaians.

The Party said it would re-energise and work harder to push “The Better Ghana Agenda” forward through the pursuance of pragmatic policies in economic; education; health and agriculture to improve the lives of Ghanaians so that returning it to power in Election 2010 would be a matter of course.

The Party has, therefore, called on its members to rededicate themselves to its core principles of probity, accountability and transparency to execute good governance to the people of Ghana.

These were contained in a resolution adopted at the end of the congress in Tamale at which President John Evans Atta Mills openly commended the delegates and the people of Tamale for conducting themselves well.

The Majority Leader in Parliament Mr Alban Sumanu Bagbin, who read the resolution, thanked Ghanaians for entrusting the administration of the State into the hands of the NDC in Election 2009.

The Party said it was re-committing itself to the global solidarity and concerns of climate change and entreated Ghanaians to join the Government to build on the economy, which had seen improvement through its adoption of prudent measures.

The NDC promised to further engage Ghanaians to broaden its democratic governance credential, which has won the admiration of the international community.

Dr Kwabena Adjei, who was re-elected Party Chairman, commended the delegates for the confidence reposed in them by giving them a new mandate, which would end in four years.

He promised that the new Executives would work in unity to promote the advancement of the Party and the welfare of its foot soldiers.

Dr Adjei said the Party was going to win Election 2012 and appealed to members to forgive and forget all differences and to forge ahead in unity.

Meanwhile, the Electoral Commission has declared the official results, which showed that Dr Adjei and the General Secretary, Mr Johnson Asiedu Nketia retained their positions with convincing victories.

Former First Lady Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings also overwhelmingly won a Vice Chairman Person position with five others - Alhaji Huudu Yahaya; Mr Kofi Portophy; Dr Ekow Spio-Garbrah; Mr Said Sinare and Mr Danny Annan.

The position of National Treasurer went to Mr Kamel Noshie, who polled 1,501 to beat Mr Yussif Abdel Adiss, who got 350 votes.

Mr Richard Quarshiga polled 1,270 to beat Mr Allotey Jacobs, who obtained 437 votes, for the position of the National Propaganda Secretary.

Five members were also elected out 15 candidates for the position of the National Executive Committee (NEC) Members. They were Mr Abu Lamin Sadat; Madam Victoria Kuma; Mr John Owusu Agyemang; Dr E.K. Hayford and Mr Richard Lantey Lawson.

Mr Yaw Gyan and Madam Betty Agbornobor were declared unopposed for the positions of National Organiser and Deputy National Organiser, respectively.


Modern Ghana Links