FEATURED: 'ofori-Atta's Performance Shockingly Abysmal; He Fooled Hypocritical I...

08.04.2009 Politics

Greater Accra elects Council of State member

Listen to article

Mr Emmanuel Adjei Anang, former President of the National Associations of Local Authorities of Ghana (NALAG), was on Wednesday elected as Greater Accra Region representative to the Council of State.

Mr Anang polled 15 votes out of the 20 votes cast to beat seven other contestants during the region's election supervised by the Electoral Commission and the Regional Co-ordinating Council in Accra.

The election, which was to have been held on the March 24, was suspended following reports of unpreparedness on the part of the Regional Coordinating Council who could not constitute the region's Electoral College for the exercise on time.

Two representatives from each of the 10 assemblies in the Greater Accra Region that make up the Electoral College voted in the election witness by other Assembly Members.

The other contestants were Mr Emmanuel Norteye Adumuah,who had five votes, while six others - Mr Joseph Nii Amartey Hyde, Mr Timothy Awumee, Mr Godwin Adjei Quaye, Mr Owula Kpakpa Brofonyo, Mr Eddie Laryea Nathan, Mr Sulley Adamu Taylor – each had no vote.

President John Evans Atta Mills has already sworn the other Members of the Council, which elected Professor Kofi Awoonor as its Chairman.

The other Members are:; Mrs. Victoria Addy, Mrs. Cecilia Johnson, Prof. Akilakpa Sawyerr, Daasebre Kwebu Ewusi VII, Alhaji Asoma Banda, Hajara Musa Ali, Alhaji Mahama Iddrisu, Nana Akuako Sarpong and Otumfuo Badu Bonsu XV.

The rest are the Rev. Dr. Nii Amoo Darko, Lt. Gen. Arnold Quainoo (rtd), Mr Peter Tenganabang Nanfuri, Prof. Naa Sebiyam Nabila, Mr J. H. Owusu Acheampong, Nana Asiamah Poku Afrifa, Kpana Mohammed Baba Bawa, Dr. Bernard Kwesi Glover, the Very Rev. Jacob Ayibour, Mr. George Kofi Dadzie, Naa Seidu Briamah, Osaberima Owusu Gyamadu III and Mr. Ato Asuman.


Powered By Modern Ghana