FEATURED: True Descendants Of Ab-Ram Are Indeed In Ghana!!...

27.03.2009 Education

Asantehene lauded for helping to improve the country’s education

Listen to article

The Adansi South District Director of Education, Mr Isaac Kofi Bimpong, has lauded the Asantehene, Otumfuo Osei Tutu II, for his Education Fund initiative describing him as a shinning example of “community response” to the improvement of education in the country.

He noted that the Otumfuo's Education Fund like that of the Ghana Education Trust Fund (GETFund), had tremendously helped to provide additional funding for education.

Mr Bimpong was addressing the third quadrennial delegates' conference of the Adansi South branch of the Ghana National Association of Teachers (GNAT) at New Edubiase.

The theme for the conference was “The Challenges of the Teaching Profession in the 21st Century”.

The District Director identified insufficient allocation of financial resources particularly to support vocational and technical education as a major challenge and said intervention by well-meaning citizens and organizations would be appreciated.

Mr Bimpong commended GNAT for organizing conferences to discuss the way forward for the country's educational system, saying, “With the current professional crisis facing the educational system, it is appropriate that such conferences should devote time to examine and reflect on these in order to generate recommendations that would ensure quality education for all”.

Mr Charles Adu-Nti, Ashanti Regional Assistant Secretary of GNAT, asked teachers to critically examine their professional performance both in school and outside and strive to make amends where they fell short.

He counselled them against acts of illegal fee collection, defilement and other unprofessional practices.

Mr Paul Karl Mensah, District GNAT Secretary, called on the district executive of the Association to ensure teamwork to strengthen the “teachers' front” in the area.

Mr Charles Anokye chairs the new seven-member executive elected at the end of the conference for a four-year term.