FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

17.03.2009 Politics

Council of State sworn in, Greater Accra no show

By myjoyonline

Twenty-three out of the constitutionally mandated twenty-five members of the Council of State have been sworn by the President, H.E. John Evans Atta Mills thus paving the way for the appointment of key institutional heads in the country.

The Greater Accra Region has not yet elected its representative on the Council of State and thus does not have representation on the council.

The swearing in ceremony took place at the seat of government, the Osu Castle.

The list of Members of the Council of State is as follows:

1. Mrs. Victoria Addy – Presidential Appointee
2. Mrs. Cecilia Johnson – Presidential Appointee
3. Prof. Akilakpa Sawyerr – Presidential Appointee
4. Prof. Kofi Awoonor – Presidential Appointee
5. Daasebre Kwebu Ewusi VII – Presidential Appointee

6. Alhaji Asoma Banda – Presidential Appointee
7. Hajara Musa Ali – Presidential Appointee
8. Alhaji Mahama Iddrisu – Presidential Appointee
9. Nana Akuako Sarpong – Presidential Appointee
10. Otumfuo Badu Bonsu XV – Presidential Appointee
11. Rev. Dr. Nii Amoo Darko – Presidential Appointee

12. Lt. Gen Arnold Quainoo (rtd) – Presidential Appointee

13. Peter Tenganabang Nanfuri – Presidential Appointee

14. Professor Naa Sebiyam Nabila – Presidential Appointee

15. J. H. Owusu Acheampong – Brong Ahafo Region
16. Nana Asiamah Poku Afrifa – Ashanti Region
17. Kpana Mohammed Baba Bawa – Northern Region

18. Dr. Bernard Kwesi Glover – Volta Region
19. Very Rev. Jacob Ayibour – Upper Eat Region
20. Mr. George Kofi Dadzie – Western Region Region
21. Naa Seidu Briamah – Upper West Region
22. Osaberima Owusu Gyamadu III – Eastern Region
23. Mr. Ato Asuman – Central Region
One of the institutions to benefit from the swearing in of the Council of State will be the Police Service which still has an acting IGP rather than a substantive one.

It is expected that state institutions which had their boards dissolved moments after President Mills took office would also see the naming of members to occupy the vacant positions.

It is recalled that many analysts have been concerned about the non formation of the Council of State arguing that it had greatly limited some of the appointing authority of President John Mills since constitutionally he is expected to consult them.

Source: citi