FEATURED: The Bushy Roads In The City Of Accra: Who Is Sleeping On The Job?...

24.02.2009 Politics

President Mills Nominates First Batch Of Deputy Ministers


The President, John Evans Atta Mills has released a list of 23 nominees for appointment as Deputy Ministers of State.

The list signed by Mr Bebaako Mensah, Secretary to the President, has key party functionaries including Mr Fiifi Kwetey as one of two Deputy Ministers of Finance.

The rest are Mr Seth Terpker, Deputy Minister of Finance; John Jatuah, Trade and Industry; Dr Nartey Siaw Sapore, Communications; Henry Kamel, Lands and Natural Resources; Mr Emmanuel Armah Kofi Boah and Dr Kwabena Donkor, Energy; Mrs Gyifa Peace Ativor Transport; Hawawu Buoya Gariba for the Womens and Children's Affairs; and Dr Kwasi Appiah Kubi, Interior.

Others include Mrs Elizabeth Amoah Tetteh, Deputy Education Minister; Dr Joseph Annan, Deputy Minister for Education; Kwabena Owusu Acheampong, Tourism; Elvis Afriyie Ankrah, Local Government and Rural Development; Rojo Mettle Nunoo, Roads and Highways; and Nii Nortey Dua as Deputy Youth and Sports Minister.

The following have also been nominated as deputy regional ministers: They are, Baba Jamal, Deputy Eastern Regional Minister; Eric Opoku, Brong Ahafo Region; Khalid Ceasar, Upper West; Betty Bosomtwe Sam Deputy Western Region; Mr Moses Magbenba Northern Region; Col Cyril Necku Rtd, Volta Region; and Lucy Awuni, Upper East Region.

Three other nominees have also been named for appointment as ministers of state. They are Abdul Rashid, Alhaji Seidu Amadu, and Mr. Kwadwo Tawiah.