FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

24.02.2009 Politics

New Ministers Named

By Daily Guide
New Ministers Named

Elvis Afriyie Ankrah-Local Government President John Evans Atta Mills has nominated for ministerial and deputy ministerial positions, 23 persons for consideration by the Appointments Committee of Parliament.

The nomination, according to a statement from the Secretary to the President, J.K. Bebaako-Mensah, is in consonance with Article 79 (i) of the 1992 Constitution.

The name which has attracted most attention among the long list is the Propaganda Secretary of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), Fiifi Kwetey, who is on the verge of becoming a Deputy Minister of Finance and Economic Planning.

Mr. Kwetey's abrasive approach to arguments during debating encounters with his colleagues from other parties has earned for him opprobrium on the political plane.

Joining him in the Finance and Economic Planning Ministry is Seth Tekpeh, formerly of VAT Service.

Supporting Hon. Cletus Avoka at the Interior Ministry is Dr. Kwesi Akyem Apea-Kubi.

Heading for the Trade and Industry Ministry is Mr. John Gyetuah, while Mrs. Elizabeth Amoah-Tetteh and Dr. Joseph Annan will be stationed at the Education Ministry.

Joining Hon. Haruna Iddrisu at the Communications Ministry is Dr. Nartey Siaw-Sappore.

Another prominent NDC personality on the list is Rojo Mettle-Nunoo, a known litigant noted for turning to the courts at the drop of a coin.

Some have described him as a foul-mouthed politician who has been rewarded for his contribution to the cause of Prof Mills.

His nomination as Deputy Minister for Roads and Highways is a purposeful one by the President in recognition of his unquantifiable services.

Many have lobbied for this ministry but failed to get the nod of the President who reserved it for only the highly recognized.

Alhaji Baba Jamal, Deputy General Secretary of the NDC who is still engaged in a parliamentary dispute in the Akwatia constituency, has been rewarded with a nomination for the position of Deputy Minister of the Eastern Region.

Others are Dr. Kwabena Donkor, Energy;  Emmanuel Armah-Kofi Buah (MP for Ellembelle), Energy; Henry Ford Kamel, Lands and Mineral Resources; Kwabena Owusu Acheampong, Tourism; Ms. Dzifa Peace Aku Attivor, Transport; Ms Hawawu Boya Gariba, Women and Children's Affairs; Nii Nortey Duah, Youth and Sports, who is the MP for Ledzokuku constituency;  Elvis Afriyie-Ankrah, Local Government and Rural Development.

The rest are Eric Opoku, Brong Ahafo; Kale Caesar, Upper West; Mrs. Lucy Awuni Mbun, Upper East; Moses Mabengba, Northern; Col. Cyril Neku (rtd), Volta; and Ms Betty Bosomtwi-Sam, Western.

Nominated by the President as Ministers of State are Kwajo Tawiah Likpalimor, Abdul-Rashid Pelpuo and Alhaji Seidu Amadu.

DAILY GUIDE learnt that more names are in the offing especially for ministries whose ministers have not been sworn in, since nomination of deputies are in consultation with the substantive ministers.

By A.R. Gomda