FEATURED: Why Are Black People Obsessed With The Bible That Was Used To Enslave ...

17.02.2009 Politics

Parliament approves nomination of 13 ministers

By myjoyonline
Parliament approves nomination of 13 ministers

Parliament has approved the nomination of four ministers of state and nine regional ministers.

The thirteen ministers received the nod after the House had thoroughly scrutinized two reports submitted by the Appointments Committee of Parliament on the nominees.

The approval of the ministers follows hearings by the committee as spelt out by Article 78(1) of the 1992 constitution.

The four ministers of state were Haruna Iddrisu for Communications; Ms Hannah Tetteh for Trade and Industry; Major General (Rtd) Joseph Smith for Defence; and Alhaji Muntakar Mubarrak for Youth and Sports.

A long-drawn debate on Ms Tetteh's alleged failure to fulfil her tax obligations nearly stalled her approval.

The matter was put to rest after the chairman of the Appointments Committee, Edward Doe Adjaho, submitted a letter from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) stating that Ms Tetteh had fulfilled all her tax obligations.

The approved regional ministers were Mrs Ama Ms Benyiwa-Doe, Central Region; Mr Kofi Opoku Manu, Ashanti Region; Mr Nyamekye Marfo for Brong Ahafo; Hon. Mahmud Khalid for Upper West; Mr Samuel Ofosu Ampofo for Easter Region; Mr Joseph Amenowode for Volta Region; Mr Stephen Sumani Nayina for the Northern Region; Mr Paul Evans Aidoo for the Western Region; and Mr Samuel Ofosu Ampofo for the Eastern Region.

Meanwhile the House considered a fifth report which was also submitted on Interior minister designate Alhaji Mohammed Mumuni, whose vetting saw the Minority stage a walkout and Ms Sherry Aryittey, minister designate for Environment Science and Technology who was implicated in a 2004 Auditor General's report on the divestiture of the Nsawam Cannery.

They are yet to be approved by the house.
The last three reports come after two earlier ones had been submitted to the House to clear the nomination of 11 ministers for swearing-in by the President.

Meanwhile Joy News reports that Mr Wayongo, who is to reappear before the Appointments Committee after being asked to go and refresh his memory on some issues during his last encounter, would be heard by the committee on the 20 of February 2009.

Story by Fiifi Koomson