modernghana logo

FEATURED STORY Maritime Court Backs Ghana In Offshore Dispute With Ivory Coast...


Martey Newman is Mills' Chief of Staff

13 January 2009 | Politics

President John Evans Atta-Mills has appointed Mr John Henry Martey Newman, former COCOBOD Chief Executive, as his Chief of Staff.

The latest appointments bring to three the number of permanent appointments made by the President since he assumed office on January 7, 2009.

Prof. Mills earlier made two permanent appointments - Brigadier General Nunoo-Mensah as National Security Advisor and Mahama Ayariga is the Presidential Spokesperson.

The President has also appointed Mr Akwasi Oppong-Ofosu as Minister for Local Government Rural Development and Environment. James Bebako Mensah has also been appointed as Secretary to the President.

Presidential Press Secretary Mahama Ayariga has however indicated the Mr Oppong-Ofosu's appointment is only temporary.

Mr Oppong-Ofosu was a Deputy Minister in the Rawlings administration.

Prof. Mills is reportedly holding marathon meetings with his aides and is likely to announce more appointments later in the day.

Story by Fiifi Koomson

Do you have a story for publication? Please email it to


quot-img-1we run after what is going but not what is coming.

By: Invisible04 quot-img-1

Inter Bank Rates

Currency Buying Selling
U.S Dollar4.40554.4099
Pound Sterling5.96725.9745
Swiss Franc4.54894.5538
Canadian Dollar3.58613.5890
S/African Rand0.33380.3342
Australian Dollar3.51473.5214