FEATURED: Let's Embed Rawlings' Values In The National Psyche — Parliament...

30.12.2008 Elections

Results of Tain Constituency to determine next President

By gna
Results of Tain Constituency to determine next President
LISTEN DEC 30, 2008

The winner of 2008 Presidential Election

Runoff would be determined after voting in the Tain Constituency on

Friday, Dr Kwadwo Afari-Gyan, Chairman of the Electoral

Commission (EC) announced in Accra on Tuesday.
Speaking at a news conference, Dr Afari-Gyan said

mathematically the results from the constituency could affect the

outcome of the Runoff because the number of voters in the

constituency was more than the difference between Professor John

Evans Atta Mills of National Democratic Congress (NDC) and Nana

Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of New Patriotic Party (NPP).

He announced that the results from 229 out of the 230

constituencies that have been certified by the EC, gave Prof Mills

4,501,466 votes representing 50.13 per cent of total valid votes cast

while Nana Akufo-Addo garnered 4,478,411 votes representing

49.87 per cent.
Thus the difference of 23,055 votes could not give Prof Mills

the presidency since the number of voters in the Tain constituency

was more than the figure.
Prof Mills won in the Tain constituency during the 2008 General

Election. He obtained 16,211 votes, representing 50.7 per cent, while

Nana Akufo-Addo got 14,935 votes representing 46.8 per cent.

The Tain District was carved out of the Wenchi District. Its

capital, Nsawkaw is a 40-minute drive away from Wenchi.

The people are mainly farmers cultivating food crops,

especially maize and yams.

Modern Ghana Links