08.12.2008 Elections

Ayariga loses Bawku Central seat to NPP

By gna
Listen to article

Mahama Ayariga, National Democratic Congress (NDC) Member of Parliament for Bawku Central, is the latest casualty of Election 2008. Adamu Dramani of New Patriotic Party (NPP) ensured that he did not return to the august House.

Dramani polled 20,157 votes as against 17,385 by Ayariga. Moro Yaro N-Kano of Democratic Freedom Party (DFP) garnered 71 votes; Amidu Mamudu Sisala of People's National Convention (PNC) had 54 votes while Rhodaline Ayarna of Convention People's (CPP) gained 52 votes.

The ballot boxes had to be conveyed from Bawku to Bolgatanga for a recount.

In the Presidential Elections, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of NPP polled 19,933 votes while Former Vice President John Evans Atta Mills of NDC got 18,943 votes.

Dr Edward Mahama of PNC obtained 227 votes; Emmanuel Ansah-Antwi of DFP, 127 votes; Dr Paa Kwesi Nduom of CPP, 120 votes; T.N. Ward-Brew of DPP, 37 votes; Kwabena Adjei of Reformed Patriotic Democrats 20 votes and Kwesi Amoafo-Yeboah, Independent, had 69 votes. A total of 69 ballots were rejected.

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter