08.12.2008 Elections

NDC gains, NPP loses votes in Nkawkaw

Listen to article

Provisional results of the 2008 Presidential Election released by the Electoral Commission (EC)to GNA for the Nkawkaw Constituency indicate that the National Democratic Congress (NDC) gained more votes while New Patriotic Party (NPP) lost votes compared to Election 2004.

In 2004, President John Agyekum Kufuor of NPP obtained 31,285 votes as against 8,701 by Professor John Evans Atta Mills of NDC.

However, the provisional results in Election 2008 indicate that Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of (NPP) obtained 25,628 votes compared to the 9,825 votes of Prof. Mills.

This means that the 22,584-vote advantage of NPP over NDC in 2004 was reduced to 15,803 votes. In percentage terms NPP obtained to 70.92 per cent in Election 2008 compared to the 76.6 per cent it had in 2004. Convention People's Party (CPP) obtained 460 votes; People's National Convention (PNC) polled 101 votes, Democratic Freedom Party (DFP), 67 votes, Reform Patriotic Democrat (RPD), 28 votes with the Democratic People's Party (DPP) getting 24 votes.

ModernGhana Links

Join our Newsletter